follow us

ITMA names design award winners

Jacquard, dobby and print designs judged

Winners have been named in the annual Virginia Jackson Design Awards competition, sponsored by the Educational Foundation of the International Textile Market Association, producer of the semi-annual Showtime fabric show.

The Virginia Jackson Design Awards recognize outstanding textile design
students in three categories – jacquard, dobby and print.

This year, the 58 entries from seven schools, were judged on aesthetic form,
ability to be manufactured and applicability to furniture products, with 10
designs selected as winners. The top designs will be displayed in Suites at
Market Square in High Point, NC, throughout Summer Showtime June 6-9.

“A big part of the mission of ITMA’s Educational Foundation is to encourage
creative individuals to enter the home furnishings textile field, and we are
always thrilled by the excellence of the entries we receive,” said Catherine
Morsell, executive director.

The winners in each category are:
1st Place (Tie) –Huong Nguyen and Nami Minaki, Rhode Island School of Design
2nd Place – Bo Young Moon, Philadelphia University
Honorable Mention - Amy Strickland, Philadelphia University

1st Place – Amanda McGonagle, Philadelphia University
2nd Place – Amanda Ross, Kansas City Art Institute
Honorable Mention - Megan Foley, Philadelphia University

1st Place – Soo Yeun Kim, Philadelphia University
2nd Place – Kelly Wurster, Syracuse University
Honorable Mention – Sophia Reale, Syracuse University

Each winner receives a monetary prize, and each first-place winner’s school
also receives $1,000 donated to its textile design department.

In addition, the first-place winners in each category are flown
expenses-paid to Showtime™ to be honored and meet with members of the
industry during an evening social event.  The students are encouraged to
bring their portfolios with them.

The seven schools that participated in the competition included North
Carolina State University, Michigan State University, Savannah School of Art
and Design, Rhode Island School of Design, Syracuse University, Philadelphia
University, and Kansas City Art Institute.

Judges for this year's competition were Wesley Mancini, Wesley Mancini Ltd.;
Kim Grimsley, Circa 1801; Sara Gray, Sara Gray Design; David Petrusch,
Marlatex; Laura Levinson, Valdese Weavers; Charly Roper, Textile Design
Consultant; Erica Youngels, American Decorative Fabric; Todd Bowles and Roxy
Ulmsten, both of Convergence; and Denise Gutierrez, Craftex by Victor.

Founded in 1990, ITMA is a non-profit trade association, consisting of
mills, converters, tanneries and trimming manufacturers that supply
decorative coverings for the home furnishings industry, whose main objective
is to stimulate growth and development within the home furnishings industry.
Showtime boasts the most extensive presentation of fabric, leather and
trimmings in the Western Hemisphere.

More than 800 buying companies attend Showtime from such markets as:
1. Furniture manufacturers
2. Outdoor and casual furniture
3. Fabric retailers
4. Decorative accessory manufacturers 5. Interior design
6. Hospitality – hotels, resorts, et al
7. Department stores
8. Apparel and costuming
9. Handbag and fashion accessory manufacturers
10. Jobbers
11. Workrooms
12. Window Coverings
13. Linen Rental
14. Lampshades
15. Top of the bed and soft goods
16. Mail-order catalogs
17. Marine – boats, yachts, et al
18. Transportation

The next Showtime takes place Dec. 5-8.

Further information about ITMA and Showtime is available at or via e-mail to or calling (336)

Other Home Furnishings Sites

Casual Living
Gifts and Decorative Accessories
Home Accents Today
Kids Today
Home & Textiles Today