ASFD accepting applications for Pinnacle design awards

Competition promotes outstanding furniture design quality in the retail home furnishings industry

The American Society of Furniture Designers is accepting applications for its 2006 Pinnacle design achievement awards. Now in its eleventh year, the awards competition promotes outstanding furniture design quality by recognizing and honoring furniture designers within the retail home furnishings industry.

Entries may be made in 15 categories including accessories, bedroom, casual dining, home entertainment, home lighting, home office, juvenile, leather upholstery, major collections, motion upholstery, occasional storage, occasional tables, stationary upholstery and summer/casual. Entry forms including requirements and eligibility rules are available for downloading at A free 2006 Pinnacle poster/entry kit is also available by contacting ASFD at 910-576-1273 or by e-mail at The submission deadline for all entries has been set for Aug. 4, which is a month earlier than in previous years. The 2006 Pinnacle Awards banquet will be held Wednesday evening, Oct. 18, at the International Home Furnishings Center Ballroom in High Point, N.C. The new fall schedule for the Furniture Market is Monday to Sunday, Oct. 16-22. Furniture/Today, a sister publication to Casual Living, serves as the major underwriter of the 2006 ASFD Pinnacle Awards. It also will participate in the planning and execution of the October awards banquet.
The 2006 Pinnacle Awards sponsors include APA-The Engineered Wood Association, Appalachian Hardwood Manufacturers, Elmo Leather, FurnitureFan Inc., Leggett & Platt, The October Company, Weyerhaeuser, World Market Center Las Vegas and various trade publications. Judges will include Dr. Richard Bennington, High Point University; Gary Evans, Furniture/Today; Leslie Fishbein, Kacey Fine Furniture; Francel Goude, RFG Global Design Group; Jackie Hirschhaut, American Home Furnishings Alliance; Dr. Thelma Lazo-Flores, Savannah College of Art & Design; Sheila Long O'Mara, Home Furnishings Business; Dan Minor, Boyles Furniture; Julie Smith, Furniture Style; Max Shangle, Kendall College of Art & Design; Steve Walker, N.C. State University and Rhonda Wolf, Havertys Furniture.

Web Directory Search
Search for Products/Companies
Subscribe to
Casual Living eWeekly
Receive the news you need to know about the trends in the industry delivered right to your inbox.

Exterior Design

Exterior Design Fall 2017

A new season means a fresh look at outdoor luxury in the fall issue of Exterior Design. From the Hollywood Hills to the penthouses of New York, we explore the most opulent outdoor spaces, products and designs. The Fifth Room has arrived in high style, and you don't want to miss it! See the latest issue!

October Digital Edition


Don't miss the October digital edition of Casual Living! In this month’s Market Issue, we’ll bring you all the highlights of Casual Market Chicago, from innovative new products and hot trends to this year’s award winners and a taste of the party scene. Plus, you’ll get a sneak peek of all the product debuts at High Point Market.

In this issue:

  • Consumer Survey: Did you know three out of four consumers read online reviews before purchasing outdoor furniture? That’s just one of the shopping insights shared in our exclusive report on consumer buying habits.
  • Designer Viewpoint: A North Carolina designer creates an outdoor space for a modern-day Brady Bunch. • Barbecue Lifestyle: Our grill guy gives tips on extending the season through the holidays.
  • Focus On: Patterns punch up the style quotient of outdoor accessories.
October Digital Edition