Four students earn Celia Moh scholarships

Image of Emily Hardin
Image of Heather Seto
Image of Sam Patterson
Image of Sara Kaitlin Thompson

HIGH POINT — Four students have been selected to receive the Celia Moh Scholarship for 2014-2015.

This year’s recipients are: Emily Hardin, a senior interior design student at Mississippi State University; Samuel Patterson, a junior in the industrial design program at North Carolina State University; Heather Seto, a senior furniture design major attending Kendall College of Art and Design; and Kaitlin Thompson, a junior home furnishings major from High Point University.

The Celia Moh Scholarship is considered one of the preeminent academic scholarship programs for students bound for careers in the home furnishings industry, paying full-time tuition and fees, room board and books for its recipients. In addition, the scholarship hosts an annual networking and resource-building trip to the High Point Market, and provides informal internship and career guidance for its scholars, as well as offering an active alumni network for former scholars who are now in the home furnishings industry.

Established in 2001 by furniture industry entrepreneur Laurence Moh, best known as the founder of Universal Furniture and later, Fine Furniture Design, to honor his wife, Celia, the program’s endowment has provided 84 full scholarships in 13 years, exceeding $3.8 million in awards.

Scholarship candidates are selected by their respective universities and then must complete an extensive application questionnaire, write a personal essay, obtain instructors’ recommendations, and provide a college transcript illustrating exceptional academic achievement. A scholarship committee selected the students from a pool of candidates from eight universities across the country. The four new scholarship recipients join four returning undergraduate students selected as Celia Moh Scholars last year — Hazel Chang, James Ellis and Casey Gloster, all attending Appalachian State University; and Angela Truehill, a student at East Carolina University.